First of all, we only charge sales tax in certain states. Within those states, there are distinctions based on the type of product. To date, 41 states have eliminated sales taxes on gold and silver bullion, including the Best IRA Gold fund. The only states that continue to levy taxes on the sale of precious metal ingots are Vermont, New Jersey, Maine, Tennessee, Kentucky, Wisconsin, New Mexico, Mississippi and Hawaii. The District of Columbia also taxes physical purchases of gold and silver.

There is no all-encompassing sales tax in the United States. The 50 individual states have their own tax laws and their own sales tax rates. These can differ greatly from state to state. In some states there is no sales tax on precious metals, while in others you'll pay about an additional 10% for every purchase you make.

There are currently five states (Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon) that do not impose any sales tax. There are 34 other states that have full or partial sales and use tax exemptions for retail sales of coins and precious metals in ingots.